Cody ChesnuTT
  • Rolling Stone Reveals “I’ve Been Life” Video


    Shot in the beautiful, historic Bedford Stuyvesant neighborhood of Brooklyn and directed by Alex Maxwell of world renowned visual effects company, The Mill, the video is an innovative addition to the message of ChesnuTT’s critically acclaimed album. Showcasing the lively stilt-walking group, Brooklyn Jumbies, as they dance along to the fast-paced rhythm of the streets, the video is a proclamation of celebration highlighting the cultural strength and resilience of the African diaspora. “There’s a fresh, creative energy and rising consciousness on the African continent and throughout the diaspora,” ChesnuTT explains. “’I’ve Been Life’ is one of the many ways in which I hope to make a healthy contribution to this promising movement.”

    Watch the video on Rolling Stone HERE.

    This entry was posted in General on by .
  • NYC Shows on June 13 & 14


    ChesnuTT and his band will be coming to New York this summer for two not-to-be-missed performances! Come aboard on Thursday, June 13 when he will be playing with Martin Luther for SOB’s Summer Splash Concert Series on the Luxury Infinity Yacht and enjoy the breathtaking cruise around lower Manhattan during the show. Tickets are still available! To purchase yours before they sell out, click here. He’ll also be performing in Brooklyn the following night with Mavis Staples at the Prospect Park Bandshell for the Celebrate Brooklyn! concert series. For more information, click here .

    This entry was posted in General on by .

No shows booked at the moment.

Landing on a Hundred

Release Date: 2012

1. Til I Met TheeSpotify
2. I've Been LifeSpotify
3. That's Still MamaSpotify
4. What Kind of Cool (Will We Think of Next)Spotify
5. Don't Follow MeSpotify
6. Everybody's BrotherSpotify
7. Love is More Than a Wedding DaySpotify
8. Under the Spell of the HandoutSpotify
9. Don't Wanna Go the Other WaySpotify
10. Chips Down (In No Landfill)Spotify
11. Where is all the Money GoingSpotify
12. Scroll CallSpotify

Black Skin No Value

Release Date: 2010

1. Black Skin No ValueSpotify
2. Do Better To The YoungSpotify
3. The Quiet Girl Who Eats AloneSpotify
4. Everybody's BrotherSpotify
5. Where Is All The Money GoingSpotify
6. To Be Upon The PerchSpotify

The Headphone Masterpiece

Release Date: September 24, 2002

YouTube responded to TubePress with an HTTP 410 - No longer available

[instapress userid=”self” piccount=”50″ size=”110″ effect=”fancybox”]

Universally hailed as a thrilling new figure in music for his edgy, lo-fi debut, The Headphone Masterpiece, back in 2002, Cody ChesnuTT is a soul troubadour whose frank, socially conscious ruminations on life continue to challenge popular notions of what modern soul music can look and sound like: . A raw storyteller for the people wearing a guitar and a toothpick-chewing smirk; a. A wide-eyed, intense soul brother in a crazy-fly get-up singing about bedraggled love in the land of Lost Angeles. He’s all of that, but wiser now while still wearing poetic license on his skin like a battle scar. The Atlanta native has always stood his own creative ground , ever since he first holed himself up in his bedroom to record The Headphone Masterpiece, armed with his DIY musical arsenal: a drum machine, an array of instruments, a dusty four-track cassette recorder and a giant pair of headphones to block out the world. The result was an unvarnished collection of songs – 36 in total -which alchemized his love of a multitude of styles: classic rock, rhythm and blues, pop, punk and gospel music.

A decade earlier, Cody explored the Atlanta’s early ‘90s R&B scene as a singer, and then toiled in his LA-based band, The Crosswalk.  His time spent alone exploring raw new sounds in his bedroom had finally paid off in 2002 with the release of The Headphone Masterpiece. Industry taste makers like music writer dream hampton and The Roots drummer and Late Night With Jimmy Fallon bandleader Questlove took to the record immediately, hearing in Cody’s music the kind of emotional intensity and savvy, irreverent wordplay that was sorely missing in Black music in the early 2000s as the neo-soul movement sputtered to a near halt, losing several of its key players to their own hiatuses. A song from The Headphone Masterpiece was re-tooled as “The Seed 2.0” for the Roots’ seminal album Phrenology, exposing Cody’s music to a wider mainstream audience. The song was nominated for two moonman statuettes at the 2003 MTV Video Music Awards, and his own album was nominated for the prestigious Shortlist Music Prize that same year. His fiery performance in Dave Chappelle’s Block Party added to his growing cult-fame status as an electrifying showman and daring genre-bender. The film was helmed by French video director Michel Gondry, best known for directing Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and his pioneering visuals for the alt-musician Bjöork. A fan of Cody’s music, he also directed the stunning video for “King of the Game,” a song from Cody’s 2006 one-man stage project “The Live Release.”

Landing On A Hundred, Cody’s second full-length LP, marks his return to the music game after a period of family-man retreat and reflection that did a world of good for him after his meteoric rise to near fame. The title is a reference to the slang saying, “Keeping It One Hundred,” or telling the whole truth, and for lovers of true blue Southern soul this new album is a must-have — he recorded it with a ten-piece band in Memphis-based Royal Studios, the sonic birthplace of some of the deepest works by soul and blues luminaries like Al Green, Buddy Guy and Ike & Tina Turner. “The original tracks were cut on two-inch tape,” Cody explains.. “My hands were tingling, because I got to sing on the actual microphone that Al Green recorded with. Nothing has changed. The down home acoustic treatments are still in place.”

Topics on Landing On A Hundred cover lots of grown-folks business: a man’s road to redemption after years of womanizing and crack addiction, the power and labor of slow-burning marital love that eclipses mere material expressions of affection. Keeping it truthful is ultimately what matters most in Cody’s songs: how it reveals itself in your darkest thoughts, how it can heal old wounds with a hand clap and a foot stomp. Truthfulness emanates from Cody’s vocal chords and the strings of his guitar while his strong, sensitive voice and riveting sound continues to command listeners, leading them to their own higher ground.

For more info on Cody ChesnuTT, please contact:

Management: Cynthia Charles (The Detail Division): [email protected]

Press:Cynthia Charles (The Detail Division): [email protected]

Booking-North America: Keith Levy (Paradigm): [email protected]
Booking-International:Shaz Qureshi (WME): [email protected]
Booking-International:David Levy (WME):[email protected]